South African Affiliates

Eastern Cape

 

East London Philatelic Society

Fourth Thursday, every month, Heritage Hall, 1st Floor, Berea Gardens, 70 Jarvis Rd, Berea, East London. 19:00 for 19:30

Pres: David Preston 082 774 2090 prestee@telkomsa.net
Sec: Carlos Da Fonseca 082 334 7603 cdafonseca@za.tiauto.com

 

Port Elizabeth Philatelic Society

First non-holiday Monday, every month; Bible Society House, 31 Cotswold Ave, Cotswold, Port Elizabeth. 19:00

Pres: Francois Friend 082 554 8900 francois@softchem.co.za
Sec: Rodney Maclachlan 072 619 5409 rhmaclachlan@gmail.com

NEWS

Free State

 

Goldfields Philatelic Society

Last Thursday, every month; NG Kerk, Moedergemeente, Odendaalsrus. 19:00

Sec: Annette Harrison 072 562 2682 annette@internext.co.za

 

Orange Free State Philatelic Society

Fourth Friday, every month; Museum of Boer Republics, Memoriam Rd, Bloemfontein. 19:15 (except December)

 Pres: Neil Cronje (RDPSA) 082 800 1432 drjdecronje@gmail.com
Sec: Joof van der Merwe 082 824 6350 jnc1@vodamail.co.za

NEWS

 

Sasolburg Philatelic Society

Second Wednesday, every month; Sasolburg Public Library, Civic Centre, Fichardt St, Sasolburg. 14:00 (except July and December).

 Pres: Johan van Wyk 082  447  3099 vanwyk.johan6@gmail.com
Sec:

NEWS

Gauteng

 

Afrikaanse Filateliese Vereeniging
Sec: Albert de Jong 072 460 4528 deja@global.co.za
Afrikaanse Filatelievereniging van Pretoria
East Rand Philatelic Society

Last Saturday, every month; The Victorian Secret, crnr Woburn Av/Russell St, Benoni. 14:00 (except December)

Pres:
Sec: Paul Hammerton 082 459 4221 hampaul@ananzi.co.za
Edenvale Philatelic Society

First Saturday, every month: Thornhill Manor Hall, Thornhill Retirement Village, Modderfontein. 14:00 – 16:00

Pres: Colin Bousfield 082 309 8656 colinb@bell.co.za
Sec: Laura Bousfield 061 037 6550 laura.bousfield17@gmail.com

NEWS

 

Philatelic Society of Johannesburg

Third Wednesday, every month;  Blairgowrie Recreation Centre, Park Lane, Blairgowrie. 19:30 (except December)

Pres: Clive Carr 011 789 6357 carr.clive@gmail.com
Sec: Ray Hackworth 072 316 7308 hackworth@taxbright.co.za

NEWS

 

Postmark and Postal History Society of Southern Africa

For meeting details contact the Secretary Mrs Marge Viljoen

Pres: Ben Jansen 082 990 0176 jansenb49@gmail.com
Sec: Marge Viljoen 082 404 7238
Pretoria Philatelic Society
Sandton Philatelic Society

First Monday, every month; Blairgowrie Community Centre, Park Lane Avenue (off Susman Av), Blairgowrie. 20:00 (except January)

Pres: Chris Carey 083 662 2150 ccarey@icon.co.za
Sec: Beata Carey ccarey@icon.co.za

 

Thematics SA

First Saturday of the month:

Pretoria Chapter: 10:00 at the Greek Orthodox Church Hall, corner Lynwood Road and Roper Street, Pretoria (opposite UP main gate). Contact: Helena Snyman, 083 990 8953 – helena.snyman@gauteng.gov.za

 

Western Cape Chapter: 09:30 at the Church Hall of the DR Church Bellville-Vallei, c/o Postma and St Andrews Street, Oakdale, Bellville. Contact: Diederik Viljoen, 082 456 6653 – diederikaviljoen@gmail.com

 

Third Monday of the month:

KZN Chapter: 15:00 at St Matthews Parish Hall, 115 Hesketh Drive, Hayfields, Pietermaritzburg. Contact: Aubrey Bowles, 083 382 8308 – aubrey.bowles45@gmail.com

NEWS

 

West Rand Philatelic Society

Third Wednesday, every month; Panorama Tennis Club, Cornelius St, Weltevreden Park. 19:30

Pres: Andries Nel 083 269 9374 andriesn@telkomsa.net
Sec: Ian Walker 084 425 2594 ian.walker@vodamail.co.za
Witwatersrand Philatelic Society

Second Wednesday, every month; Country Club, Johannesburg, Napier Rd, Auckland Park. 20:00

Pres: Herbie Schaffler (RDPSA) 082 722 7604 haschaff@iafrica.com
Sec: Nikki Espley-Jones 011 710 6406 nikki@ccj.co.za

NEWS

Kwa-Zulu Natal

 

Highway Philatelic Society

Third Saturday, every month; German Club (Musketeers Restaurant), 7 Barham Rd, Westville, Durban. 09:00-11:30.

 

Pres:  Leigh Hen-Boisen 082 445 1411 leigh.hb@gmail.com
Sec:   Bronwen Edwards 031 764 4628 edwards@worldonline.co.za

 

Maritzburg Philatelic Society

Third Monday, every month; St Matthews Anglican Church Parish Hall, 115 Hesketh Dr, Hayfields, Pietermaritzburg. 16:00. The Thematic Group meets on the first Saturday, every month; 26 Maud Ave, Scottsville. 09:00 (except public holidays).

 

Pres:  Dave Wyllie 082 926 8888 davewyllie@telkomsa.net
Sec:   Aubrey Bowles 082 316 3308 burncree45@telkomsa.net

NEWS

 

Philatelic Society of KwaZulu-Natal

Second Saturday, every month; Classic Motor Cycle Clubhouse, 137 Tara Road, The Bluff, Durban. 10:00.

 

Pres:  Fonda Sonitis 074 347 1388 fondasonitis@gmail.com
Sec:   Lesley Deg 084 464 7171 lesleydeg@gmail.com

Western Cape

 

Bellville Philatelic Society

Second Wednesday, every month; Bellville Library Auditorium, Charl van Aswegen Rd, Bellville. 19:00

Pres:  Werner Barnard 082 895 6993 wernerb@axxess.co.za
Sec:   Reanie de Villiers 082 567 0353 reanie@netpoint.co.za
Die Posboom Filatelievereniging, Mosselbaai

Tweede Maandag, elke maand; St Peter’s Kerksaal, Marshstraat, Mosselbaai. 19:00

Pres:
Sec:   Gerrie Conradie 082 952 6700 gajcon@gmail.com
Fish Hoek Philatelic Society

First Tuesday, every month; The Minor Hall, Civic Centre, Recreation Rd, Fish Hoek. 19h30.

Pres:  Dave Young 082 461 0631 davesueyoung@gmail.com
Sec:   Volker Janssen 021 786 1548 janssenp@iafrica.com
Website:      www.fhps.info
George Philatelic Society

Second Thursday, every month; Minor Hall, Presbyterian Church, 8 Caledon Street, George. 19:00.

Pres:  Nic Zerbst (RDPSA) 083 625 5804 zerbst-home@mweb.co.za
Sec:   Rob Sinclair-Black 044 874 6337 robrita@mweb.co.za
Paarlse Filateliste

Tweede Donderdag, elke maand; MBA Boland Building, Concordia St, Paarl. 19:30.

Pres:  Gawie Hugo 083 956 2410 gawiehugo@gmail.com
Sec:   Riaan Crafford 082 876 7608 craffies@telkomsa.net
Pinelands Stamp Circle, Cape Town

Last Wednesday, every month; Activities Room, Public Library, Howard Place, Pinelands. 19:30 (except December).

Pres:  Martin Crawford 021 689 5050 m.tristan.crawford@gmail.com
Sec:   Marilyn Crawford 021 689 5050 m.tristan.crawford@gmail.com
Royal Philatelic Society of Cape Town
Stellenbosch Philatelic Society

First Tuesday, every month; Le Donjon, Recreation Hall, La Clemence, Webervallei Road, Stellenbosch. 19:00.

Pres:  Niel Matthee 083 289 1825  nielsnr@gmail.com
Sec:   Pieter Maritz 072 263 2257 pmaritz@dreamsurf.co.za

NEWS

International Affiliates

Anglo-Boer War Philatelic Society

Meetings as advised in Anglo-Boer War Philatelist; usually in South Africa during Congress week

Chairman: Kevin Darcy drmkdacy@gmail.com
Sec: Nick Harris mrnphboer@aol.com
SA Representative: Nigel Hosking nichosk@iafrica.com +27 82 789 5746
Filatelisten Vereeniging Zuidelijk Afrika
Act pres: Johan Diesveld johandiesveld@gmail.com
Act Sec./Editor of newsletter  “Bartolomeu Dias”: Ko Zegerman kozegerman@kpnmail.nl
Orange Free State Study Circle

Meetings and venue advised in OFS Bulletin

Pres:  Richard Stroud (RDPSA) richard@richardstroud.plus.com +44(0)1278 782235
www.orangefreestatephilately.org.uk
Philatelic Society for Greater South Africa
Contact:  Peter Thy pthy@ucdavis.edu
SA Representative: Dr Uli Bantz ulib@mweb.co.za 011 766 1495
Website:    http://psgsa.org  
Rhodesian Study Circle

Holds regular meetings and events across the world

Sec:   Brian Zlotnick bzlot@blueyonder.co.uk 00 44 1274 566607
SA Rep:  Patrick Flanagan (RDPSA) patf@fgprop.com 079 898 3795
www.rhodesianstudycircle.org.uk/
South African Collectors’ Society
Contact:  Simon Peetoom simon@africastamps.co.uk
SA Rep: Cedric Roché (RDPSA) croche@mweb.co.za 083 456 9167
South West Africa Stamp Study Group
Pres:  Uli Bantz ulib@mweb.co.za 083 409 6969
Transvaal Study Circle
Pres:  Chris Board c.board@macace.net
SA Representative: Chris Cordes belvadere@worldonline.co.za  084 303 1947

Facebook

Websites

Federation International de Philatelie

The go-to website for organised philately worldwide. You will find everything you need to know about international exhibiting here.

FIP Commission for Postal History

 

The best website for international thinking about the postal history class. You will find their up-to-date thoughts here.

Royal Philatelic Society of London

Founded in 1869, the original collectors’ club. A huge online museum and philatelic archive resource. You can find it here.

American Philatelic Society

The best site for information about the world of philately in the United States. You will find their up-to-date thoughts here.

The Siegel Encyclopedia

Visit the website of Siegel Auction Galleries for their online encyclopedia and auction archive with prices dating back to 1948.

Spink Auction Archives

 

Like Siegel, a great repository of what’s been bought and sold and paid for over the years. See their archives here.

The Transvaal Study Circle

For expert knowledge and the study of Transvaal philately

Website                    Facebook

Rhodesia Study Circle

For all things to do with the philately of the Rhodesias

Website                    Facebook

United States Philatelic Classics Society

 

If you are at all interested in the classic issues of the United States, then there is no better specialised resource than this website

South African Philately Club

 

A meeting place for collectors specialising in Southern African Stamps, Covers, Postcards and Ephemera, click here