South African Affiliates

Eastern Cape

 

East London Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the fourth Thursday at 19:30: Heritage Hall, 1st Floor, Berea Gardens, 70 Jarvis Rd, Berea, East London.

Pres: David Preston 082 774 2090 prestee@telkomsa.net
Sec: Carlos Da Fonseca 082 334 7603 cdafonseca@za.tiauto.com

 

Die Posboom Filatelievereniging, Mosselbaai

Meet monthly on the second Monday at 18:00: St Peter’s Kerksaal, Marshstraat, Mosselbaai. 19:00

Pres:  Gerrie Conradie 082 952 6700 gajcon@gmail.com
Sec:   Gerrie Conradie 082 952 6700 gajcon@gmail.com
George Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the  second Thursday at 18h00: Minor Hall, Presbyterian Church, 8 Caledon Street, George. 19:00.

Pres:  Willie Mollentze 082 555 7760 mollentzewf@gmail.com
Sec:    Otto Muller 083 240 8722 otto1muller@gamil.com
Port Elizabeth Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the first Monday at 11:00 (except December): Bible Society House, 31 Cotswold Ave, Cotswold, Port Elizabeth.

Pres: Francois Friend 082 554 8900 francois@softchem.co.za
Sec:  Louis Oosthuizen 082 469 7494 louis.oosthuizen001@gmail.com

NEWS

Free State

 

Goldfields Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the last Thursday at 14:00: NG Kerk, Moedergemeente, Odendaalsrus.

Sec: Annette Harrison 072 562 2682 annette@internext.co.za

 

Orange Free State Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the last Saturday at 10:00 (except December): Museum of Boer Republics, Memoriam Rd, Bloemfontein.

 Pres: Neil Cronje (RDPSA) 082 800 1432 drjdecronje@gmail.com
Sec: Joof van der Merwe 082 824 6350 jnc1@vodamail.co.za

NEWS

 

Sasolburg Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the second Wednesday at 14:00 (except December): Sasolburg Public Library, Civic Centre, Fichardt St, Sasolburg.

 Pres: Leon Jacobsen 083 389 8647 lj.heritage@gmail.com
Sec: Cecily Jacobsen 083 389 8647 lj.heritage@gmail.com

NEWS

Gauteng

 

Afrikaanse Filateliese Vereeniging
Contact André du Plessis pfsastamps@gmail.com
Afrikaanse Filatelievereniging van Pretoria

 

East Rand Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the last Saturday at 14:00 (except December): 52 van der Post Avenue, Parkrand, Boksburg)

Please confirm attendance with Cynthia Gillespie on 083-236-4998 or at cynthia.gillespie@gmail.com.

Pres: David Wigston 084 702 3704 speedbird.imperial@gmail.com
Sec: Paul Hammerton 082 459 4221 hampaul@ananzi.co.za

 

Edenvale Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the last Saturday at 13:00 (except December): Thornhill Manor Hall, Thornhill Retirement Village, Modderfontein.

Pres: Colin Bousfield 083 961 9656 Bousfield.colin@yahoo.co.za
Sec: Sandy Robertson sandystampnews@gmail.com

NEWS

 

Philatelic Society of Johannesburg

Meet monthly on the third Wednesday at 16:00 (except December): Blairgowrie Recreation Centre, Park Lane, Blairgowrie.

Pres: Clive Carr 083 634 1939 carr.clive@gmail.com
Sec: Ray Hackworth 072 316 7308 hackworth@taxbright.co.za

NEWS

 

Postmark and Postal History Society of Southern Africa

For meeting details contact the Secretary Mrs Marge Viljoen

Pres: Ben Jansen 082 990 0176 jansenb49@gmail.com
Sec: Marge Viljoen 082 404 7238
Pretoria Philatelic Society

 

Sandton Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the first Thursday at 10:00 (except January): Blairgowrie Community Centre, Park Lane Avenue (off Susman Av), Blairgowrie.

Pres: Chris Carey 083 662 2150 ccarey@icon.co.za
Sec: Beata Carey ccarey@icon.co.za
Thematics SA

Pretoria Chapter:

Meet monthly on the first Saturday at 10:00:  Greek Orthodox Church Hall, corner Lynwood Road and Roper Street, Pretoria (opposite UP main gate).

Contact: Helena Snyman, 083 990 8953 – helena.snyman@gauteng.gov.za

 

Western Cape Chapter:

Meet Monthly on the first Saturday at 09:00: Bellville-Vallei DRC hall, c/o Postma and St Andrews Street, Oakdale, Bellville.

Contact: Diederik Viljoen, 082 456 6653 – diederikaviljoen@gmail.com

 

KZN Chapter:

Meet monthly on the third Monday at 15:00.00: St Matthews Parish Hall, 115 Hesketh Drive, Hayfields, Pietermaritzburg.

Contact: Aubrey Bowles, 083 382 8308 – aubrey.bowles45@gmail.com

NEWS

West Rand Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the third Wednesday: Panorama Tennis Club, Cornelius St, Weltevreden Park.

Pres: Andries Nel 083 269 9374 andriesn@telkomsa.net
Sec: Ian Walker 084 425 2594 ian.walker@vodamail.co.za
Witwatersrand Philatelic Society

Meetings: Monthly on the second Wednesday at 16:00 at the Country Club, Johannesburg, Napier Rd, Auckland Park. and:

Last Wednesday at 19:00 at Woodmead Country Club, Johannesburg.

Pres: Herbie Schäffler (RDPSA) 082 722 7604 haschaff@iafrica.com
Sec: Nikki Espley-Jones 011 710 6406 nikki@ccj.co.za

NEWS

Kwa-Zulu Natal

 

Highway Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the first Saturday at 08:30: at Elizabeth Church Hall, Salisbury Avenue, Westville, Durban

 

Pres:  Frik Booyse 083 284 5929 nfbooyse@gmail.com
Marketing: Barry Livsey 082 892 7324 hps@xsinet.co.za
Maritzburg Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the third Saturday at 10:00: Hilton Scout and Community Hall, Magnolia Road, Hilton.

 

Pres:  John Handman 083 660 1275 john@radium.co.za
Sec:   Ian Horrel 083 661 8122 ian.horrell@sappi.com

NEWS

 

Philatelic Society of KwaZulu-Natal

Meet monthly on the second and fourth  Saturday at 09:00: Classic Motor Cycle Clubhouse, 137 Tara Road, The Bluff, Durban.

 

Pres: Zbigniew Kawecki 082 968 6888 z.kawecki57@gmail.com
Sec:   Lesley Deg 084 464 7171 lesleydeg@gmail.com

Western Cape

 

Bellville Philatelic Society

Second Wednesday, every month; Bellville Library Auditorium, Charl van Aswegen Rd, Bellville. 19:00

Pres:  Werner Barnard 082 895 6993 wernerb@axxess.co.za
Sec:   Reanie de Villiers 082 567 0353 reanie@netpoint.co.za
Fish Hoek Philatelic Society

Meet monthly on the first Tuesday at 14:00: The Minor Hall, Civic Centre, Recreation Rd, Fish Hoek.

Pres:   Johan De Wet 073 020 5004 elspethd@iafrica.com
Sec:   Volker Janssen 021 786 1548 janssenp@iafrica.com
Website:      www.fhps.info
NEWS

 

Paarlse Filateliste

Meet monthly on the second Saturday at 09:00: MBA gebou, Concordia St, Suider Paarl.

Pres:  Gawie Hugo 083 956 2410 gawiehugo@gmail.com
Sec:   Riaan Crafford 082 876 7608 paarlsefilateliste@gmail.com
Pinelands Stamp Circle, Cape Town

Meet monthly on the last Wednesday at 18:30 (except December): Activities Hall, Public Library, Howard Place, Pinelands.

Pres:  Martin Crawford 021 689 5050 m.tristan.crawford@gmail.com
Sec:   Marilyn Crawford 021 689 5050 m.tristan.crawford@gmail.com
Royal Philatelic Society of Cape Town

 

Stellenbosch Philatelic Society

First Tuesday, every month; Le Donjon, Recreation Hall, La Clemence, Webervallei Road, Stellenbosch, 17:00.

Pres:  Niel Matthee 083 289 1825  nielsnr@gmail.com
Sec:   A Vonkeman 083 560 7164 vonkemanab@gmail.com

NEWS

International Affiliates

Anglo-Boer War Philatelic Society

Meetings as advised in Anglo-Boer War Philatelist; usually in South Africa during Congress week

Pres: Kevin Darcy

drmkdacy@gmail.com

Sec: Nick Harris mrnphboer@aol.com 0791 8081197
SA Representative: Nigel Hosking nichosk@iafrica.com +27 82 789 5746
Filatelisten Vereeniging Zuidelijk Afrika
Act pres: Johan Diesveld johandiesveld@gmail.com
Act Sec./Editor of newsletter  “Bartolomeu Dias”: Ko Zegerman kozegerman@kpnmail.nl
Orange Free State Study Circle

Meetings and venue advised in OFS Bulletin

Pres:  Richard Stroud (RDPSA) richard@richardstroud.plus.com +44(0)1278 782235
www.orangefreestatephilately.org.uk
Philatelic Society for Greater South Africa
Contact:  Peter Thy pthy@ucdavis.edu
SA Representative: Dr Uli Bantz ulib@mweb.co.za 011 766 1495
Website:    http://psgsa.org  
Rhodesian Study Circle

Holds regular meetings and events across the world

Sec:   Brian Zlotnick bzlot@blueyonder.co.uk 00 44 1274 566607
SA Rep:  Patrick Flanagan (RDPSA) patf@fgprop.com 079 898 3795
www.rhodesianstudycircle.org.uk/
South African Collectors’ Society
Contact:  Simon Peetoom simon@africastamps.co.uk
SA Rep: Cedric Roché (RDPSA) croche@mweb.co.za 083 456 9167
South West Africa Stamp Study Group
Pres:  Uli Bantz ulib@mweb.co.za 083 409 6969
Transvaal Study Circle
Pres: Lars Jørgensen RDPSA lars.jorgensen.fs@gmail.com
SA Rep: Danna Strydom dstrydom@icon.co.za 083 452 0575

 

South West Africa Stamp Study Group
Pres:  Uli Bantz ulib@mweb.co.za 083 409 6969
Windhoek Filatelieklub
Sec: Friedhelm Beck  beckciv@iafrica.com.na

Facebook

Websites

Federation International de Philatelie

The go-to website for organised philately worldwide. You will find everything you need to know about international exhibiting here.

FIP Commission for Postal History

 

The best website for international thinking about the postal history class. You will find their up-to-date thoughts here.

Royal Philatelic Society of London

Founded in 1869, the original collectors’ club. A huge online museum and philatelic archive resource. You can find it here.

American Philatelic Society

The best site for information about the world of philately in the United States. You will find their up-to-date thoughts here.

The Siegel Encyclopedia

Visit the website of Siegel Auction Galleries for their online encyclopedia and auction archive with prices dating back to 1948.

Spink Auction Archives

 

Like Siegel, a great repository of what’s been bought and sold and paid for over the years. See their archives here.

The Transvaal Study Circle

For expert knowledge and the study of Transvaal philately

Website                    Facebook

Rhodesia Study Circle

For all things to do with the philately of the Rhodesias

Website                    Facebook

United States Philatelic Classics Society

 

If you are at all interested in the classic issues of the United States, then there is no better specialised resource than this website

South African Philately Club

 

A meeting place for collectors specialising in Southern African Stamps, Covers, Postcards and Ephemera, click here